OCR Level 2 Cambridge Technical in Science


Exam board: OCR

What is the course about?

This course is made up of six units divided into mainly Biology and Chemistry, with some Physics and Geology. Each of the six units is assessed internally through research assignments or practical investigations. The Level 2 Cambridge Technical Diploma is equivalent to three GCSEs and the units are graded as pass, merit or distinction.


Duration of course:

One year.


What units/topics will be studied?

The units covered are:
Unit 1 – Science of the Earth
Unit 7 – Food Production
Unit 8 – Science of Health
Unit 10 – Chemistry of Production
Unit 12 – Chemical Design
Unit 13 – Radiology


What can I do to prepare myself to study this subject?

Read through GCSE Science textbooks or BBC Bitesize GCSE Science webpages.
Units specifications can be found here:


Where can this lead me?

If you achieve an overall merit grade you can progress to the BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Applied Science course.


What are the enrichment opportunities as part of this subject?

You will be attending work experience as part of the programme of study, to develop your understanding of Science in the work place.